How Old Is Willie?

Some time ago I came across an interesting problem on @MathsJam, taken from Trigg’s Mathematical Quickies:

Trigg MQ 236. “Did your teacher give you that problem?” I asked. “It looks rather tedious.”
“No,” said Willie, “I made it up. It’s a polynomial equation with my age as a root. That is, x stands for my age my last birthday.”
“Well, then,” I remarked, “It shouldn’t be so hard to work out– integer coefficients, integral root. Suppose I try x = 7 \dots. No, that gives 77.”
“Do I look only seven years old?” demanded Willie.
“Well, let me try a larger integer…. No, that gives 85, not zero.”
“Oh, stop kidding!” said Willie, looking over my shoulder. “You know I’m older than that.”
How old is Willie?

This entry was posted in Random and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

